Who are we really helping?

Have you ever heard the expression about pulling yourself up by your own boot straps? What if you don’t have boot straps? Or even boots for that matter? 

I heard someone say it’s your own fault if someone knocks you down, and you don’t get up. Well, if you chop off my arms and legs, roll me down a hill, and stomp on me; it might take me a minute to get back up. So, just bear with me for still being down for a while.

People and organizations ask for help all the time. We’re more than happy to give and help, but every now and then, you have to help yourself. The money that such and such borrowed and will never pay back, could have helped you buy milk one day. When you’re standing at the checkout in Wal-Mart with milk, bread, and one frozen kid’s meal and none of your bank cards work, you have no cash, they won’t accept your bag of pennies, your child is saying, “Mommy, what’s wrong? That’s never happened before;” you are in tears, and a perfect stranger swipes her debit card to cover the eight dollars and odd change, and tells you to have a blessed day, HOW DO YOU FEEL? 

Humbled and grateful. Thankful to God for his many blessings. It doesn’t matter that you had hundreds of dollars later that day, because at that moment, you had NOTHING.

What am I even blogging about? Well, have you ever heard the expression about charity beginning at home? Have you ever thought that your situation wouldn’t be so bad if just a small fraction of the people and organizations you’ve helped and given to would help you when you really needed it? 

I understand that when times get tough, the tough get going. They forgot to tell you that sometimes who or what you expected to be there for you will run and hide, pretend ignorance, have selective amnesia, and so on. Have you ever had someone say, “I know you said I don’t have to pay you back, but please keep track; so that I can pay you when I get back on my feet.”? In fact, he insists on it. Reluctantly, you keep track. He’s back on his feet, handing out money left and right, asks how much he owes you. You tell him, and he says, “Oh, I can’t pay that.” No problem, you told him in the beginning he didn’t have to. The issue is that his insistence that he would and then did not, shows a lot about his character or lack thereof. 

What am I blogging about? What people am I talking about? What organizations? If you think it’s you, you’re probably right. That’s something YOU need to deal with.

Have you ever asked for help, were denied that help, and then asked by that same entity to provide that help to them and others? What?! How convoluted is that?! You refused to help me. I watched you help others, and now you all want my help? 

I’m praying for you and for myself as I help you.

So, as you’re looking at me at the bottom of the hill with no bootstraps, no boots, no arms, no legs, just bear with me for a minute. I need a moment or two to get back up. No, I don’t need your help. I know who I am and Whose I am.  I have my inspiration. “It’s the God in Me,” “And Still I Rise,” “We Fall Down, but We Get Up.”

So, as I’m here, blogging from my iPhone app and  clearing out my tear ducts, in the back of my mind I hear Whoopi’s line from the Color Purple, “I’m here, Lord. I’m here.”

Thanks for reading. If you really want to help someone, help yourself first. If you’re determined to throw money away, use this link  Throw Money Away Constructively.

Leave a Reply

