10 Years

Ten isn’t a large number. 10 years may seem like a lot of time, sometimes.

 

ten

In 2014, we’re reflecting on the 50th anniversary of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. I was thinking to myself: In 1964, my mom was 10 years old. 10 years later, she was in her first marriage and having her second child. 10 years later, she was in her second marriage and having her fourth child. Wow, what a difference 10 years can make.

10 years – a decade.

As I reach my fourth decade of life, I reflect on my sets of 10 years. 10 years ago, 2004, I had been married for 6 years; our son was 3 years old, and late in the year I started working full-time again for someone other than myself or family. 10 years before that, 1994, I was in my sophomore year at Purdue, dealt with another tragic family death, postponed school, suffered an extended bout of homelessness (no worries, I had friends), and generally matured a lot. 10 years before that, 1984, I was a kid living in Zweibrucken, Germany, welcoming another fabulous sibling into my life, and falling deeper in love with Porsche. Yeah, 10 years.

my porsche

 

(Side note: 10 years from now I’ll be whipping around in a Porsche. As Porsche says, “Porsche doesn’t simply build sports cars. Porsche is more. Much more. And Porsche is different.” Porsche reminds me of myself.)

Leave a Reply

